Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Amador Alliance for Arts Education

Committed to ARTS EDUCATION for all Amador kids!


Amador Art Alliance group photo

Equality in Arts Learning

In 2018, the Amador Alliance for Arts Education helped the Amador County Unified School District to adopt the “Declaration for Equity in Arts Learning” ( This document confirms the district’s commitment to equitable arts education for all students at all grade levels. These efforts were directed by student alliance members Deja Douglas, Emily-Ann Hopkins, and Lulu McBroom Briggs. The Amador Alliance works to secure sustainable funding for arts education especially state funds in the LCAP system (Local Control Accountability Plan), which must be allocated based on community needs and input. Citizen input is essential to establishing secure funding for arts education.

Working together to bring art to EVERY student

Some of our history

In October 2019, Amador Alliance for Arts Education hosted an Arts Planning collaborative breakfast for over 50 attendees. Local Students, Parents, Leaders, Businesses, County Supervisors, and the office of Borgeas & Bigelow were in attendance for the presentation which included a performance from the ACUSD Jazz Band (under direction of Hank King), 2019 Poetry Out Loud Champion Noah Bunting, Amador High Drama Club Vice President Dani Brodie, and Dr. Slavensky, ACUSD Superintendent. The event was facilitated by Robin Hampton from the California Alliance for Arts Education. Following the State of Local Arts Education address from local student leader, Maggie Johnston Swift, attendees broke out into groups to discuss ideas on how Art Education can achieve funding so that students get the arts education that is required by the state and national curriculum.

In August 2019, Amador Alliance for Arts Education facilitated the adoption of a District Arts Plan by the Amador County Unified School District Board of Trustees by working closely with the District Arts Planning Committee and District administrators Donna Custodio and Sean Snider.

Translate »